FACEBOOK is adding a new feature for memorialised accounts, which will allow users to leave messages in a ‘Tributes’ section that is separate from the timeline of the account.
The social media giant is describing the new ‘Tributes’ section as “a space on memorialised profiles where friends and family can share memories of a loved one”.
‘Legacy contacts’ were notified of the new feature today
Depending on the privacy settings of a memorialised account, Facebook friends can still write on the wall of its Timeline or comment on any posts the account holder made before they died.
Facebook’s new concept means that if a memorialised account has a ‘Tributes’ section then any posts made after the day the account was memorialised will be placed in this new section.
Facebook users have the option of having designated ‘legacy contacts’ who can manage their accounts after they die.
These ‘legacy contacts’ were alerted to the new ‘Tributes’ feature by a notification today but the feature is not yet available in all areas and Facebook are working to bring it to everyone.
Getty – Contributor Of the two billion Facebook users, over 10,000 die everyday
The ‘Tributes’ feature will result in ‘legacy contacts’ having more control over tribute posts than they do over the rest of the account.
They will have the ability to decide which other users can see and post tributes. They will also be able to delete posts and can change who can view posts which the dead user has been tagged in or they may even wish to remove a tag.
The number of Facebook accounts belonging to deceased users continues to grow and will soon outnumber the amount of living users.
Facebook has over two billion users but it is thought more than 10,000 of them die everyday.
Back in 2009, Facebook introduced a feature that enabled accounts to be turned into memorial pages when they die after some users complained that they were being urged to get in touch with their dead friends.
Bereaved family and friends have the option of getting in touch with Facebook if they wish to have the account of a loved one turned into a memorial page, which will remove sensitive information and prevent other people from logging into the account.
RevealedTEXT TRICK Facebook Messenger has a SECRET Dark Mode – here’s how to unlock the feature LOCATION LOGGER Your iPhone keeps a map of EVERYWHERE you go – here’s how to find it ExclusiveCELTIC KINKS Creepy £7,000 ‘Harmony’ sex-bot with saucy Scottish accent goes on sale PICTURE PERFECT New iPhone camera app can DELETE cars and people from your holiday snaps CORE OF THE PROBLEM? Apple engineer says pressure to design iPhone is reason I’m divorced CAN YOU SEA THEM? Groundbreaking plan to uncover hidden MOUNTAINS buried below the sea
Facebook Messenger has a secret “dark mode” that you can unlock by sending the moon emoji.
Facebook now lets you unsend embarrassing Messenger texts, but you only have 10 minutes to hit delete.
Find out how to read deleted WhatsApp messages on iPhone and Android.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online news team? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 0207 782 4368 . We pay for videos too. Click here to upload yours.