Complete List Of Holidays In The UAE For 2018

January 1, 2018 12:01 pm

Here’s a complete list of holidays for public sector for UAE. Of course, most of these dates aren’t confirmed, but we’ll keep updating this list as we know.

1. January 1, Monday- New Year’s Day

If only it was on Sunday then we could have gotten an extended 3-day break. 

2. April 13, Friday– Al Isra’a Wal Mi’raj

This one is subject to moon sighting, but in a nutshell, this holiday marks the night when Prophet Muhammad travelled from Mecca to Jerusalem and then ascended to heaven.

3. May 17, Thursday- Expected First Day Of Ramadan

This one is also dependent on the moon sighting and you won’t get any holiday as such but both sectors are allowed to work two hours less every day for the next 30 days. 

4. June 14, Thursday– Eid Al Fitr

The end of Ramadan normally means two days off, couple that with a weekend and you get a 4 day holiday. Umm, moon, are you listening?

5. August 21, Tuesday- Arafat (Haj) Day

This holiday marks the second day of the yearly holy pilgrimage and is also subject to moon sighting, but it typically means a day off from work. 

6. August 22, Wednesday- Eid Al Adha

If this falls as expected, then this combined with Arafat day and the weekend could add up to a five-day holiday. Wohooo!

7. September 11, Tuesday– Al Hijri, Islamic New Year

Dependent on moon sighting but this marks the Islamic New Year of 2018.

8. November 20, Tuesday – Milad Un Nab

Moon sighting will be taken into consideration but this holiday, which marks the Prophet Muhammad’s birthday, usually means a day off.

9. November 30, Friday– Commemoration Day

It’s a Friday so let’s see how this one will pan out. 

10. December 2, Sunday– UAE National Day

It will be UAE’s 47th National Day. Also, that means an extended three-day holiday!
Skip to toolbar
shared on