Judge in Texas blocks Obama’s order on immigration

February 17, 2015 12:05 pm

judge in Texas has issued an injunction temporarily blocking President
Barack Obama’s executive action on immigration that has drawn opposition
from 26 states across the nation.

angered Republicans when he announced in November that he would use the
executive branch to delay deportation for as many as 5 million people
who came to the illegally.
United States District Judge Andrew S. Hanen said Monday that the Obama
administration had failed to comply with the Administrative Procedure
Act. He ordered a halt to the implementation of the immigration measures
until he has weighed the full merits of the case.
has led a group of 26 states in the lawsuit seeking stop the executive
action, and officials there welcomed the judge’s initial move.
decision is a victory for the rule of law in America and a crucial
first step in reining in ’s lawlessness,” Texas Attorney
General Ken Paxton said in a statement.
But the Obama administration said it plans to appeal against the judge’s order.
district court’s decision wrongly prevents these lawful, commonsense
policies from taking effect,” the White House said in a statement.
and his staff have long argued that the President has the legal right
to take action, saying he only acted because Congress failed to pass
immigration reform.
Immigration activists said they saw the court injunction as just “a bump in the road.”
action protecting immigrant youth and parents is solid,” Cristina
Jimenez, managing director of United We Dream, said in a statement.
“Judge Hanen’s ruling is not permanent and we are confident that it will
be repealed in a higher court.”
We Dream, an immigrants’ rights group, said that Hanen “has become
known as an advocate for the harsh treatment of immigrant families.”
Texas-led coalition of states in the legal challenge are Alabama,
Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana,
Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina,
North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee,
Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wisconsin.
Skip to toolbar
shared on wplocker.com