Facebook is making it easier to plan for your online afterlife

February 15, 2015 6:25 am
is making it easier to plan for your online afterlife. The
world’s biggest online social network said that it will now let users
pick someone who can manage their account after they die. Previously,
the accounts were “memorialized” after death, or locked so that no one
could log in.
But Facebook says its users wanted more choice.
Beginning in the U.S., Facebook users can now pick a “legacy contact” to
post on their page after they die, respond to new friend requests and
update their profile picture and cover photo. Users can also have their
accounts deleted after their death, which was not possible before.

Facebook is giving you more options about what to do with your profile when you die. Photo / AP file
If
you want someone to manage your account after you die, click on the
upside-down triangle on the top right corner of your page and find
“security settings.” For US users there will be an option to edit your
legacy contact, who must be a Facebook user. But you don’t have to pick
someone else to manage your account. You can also check a box to
permanently delete your account when you die.

The person you choose to manage your account won’t be
notified of your choice until your Facebook account is memorialized. But
you can choose to send them a message right away.
Accounts are
memorialized at the request of loved ones, who must provide proof of the
person’s death, such as an obituary. Facebook tries to ensure that the
account of the dead user doesn’t show up as a “suggested friend” or in
other ways that could upset the person’s loved ones.
Facebook,
which has nearly 1.4 billion users, won’t say how many accounts are
memorialized, though Facebook product manager Vanessa Callison-Burch
said there have been “hundreds of thousands” of requests from loved ones
to do so.

Tags:
shared on wplocker.com